Valentine’s Day DIY Heart-Shaped Crayons {and a FREE Printable!}

When we were little, I remember my momma making homemade crayons for my brother and I.  She would put them in regular cupcake tins (which were still SUPER cool), but as I was trying to brainstorm a fun and unique Valentine that my 2yr old could hand out during his VDay party on Thursday, this crazy idea popped into my mind!  And it turned out AWESOME!  Be prepared to be the coolest momma ever (with incredibly minimal and inexpensive effort!  DOUBLE SCORE!!) when you make these custom crayons for your kiddos.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED (seriously, there are only 2 things on the list!)

VDAY 1

  • Crayons (I used new box of 64 Crayola crayons, but this is a GREAT way to use those millions of bits and pieces from broken crayons that you can’t figure out what to do with).
  • Silicone baking molds (I used heart-shaped molds that were on special at Michael’s because of the VDay holiday, but you can use any shape mold, custom for any event – just make sure it’s a silicone so it’ll be easy to pop them out once they’re melted).

WHAT TO DO

  • Peel the paper off the crayons.  This took the longest time (for 64 crayons, approximately from the beginning of Frozen until Elsa finished singing “Let It Go”).  The blue ones seemed to give me the most trouble…not sure why, I mean blue is my favorite color.  Oh, and MAJOR DISCLAIMER: don’t peel crayons after recently getting a new mani.  I’ve completely ruined the polish on my thumbnail.  Better yet, just let your kids peel them.  Done and done.

VDAY 2

  • Break each crayon into 4-5 pieces.  I found this to be a great stress-reliever.  Also, something my 2yr old could do to help ‘contribute’.
  • Fill the molds halfway with broken pieces.  You can be totally anal like me and pick and choose color schemes and fill each mold individually, or you can realize that kids don’t care one bit about the time you took to perfectly coordinate each crayon, and just fill them at random.

VDAY 3

  • Put the mold(s) on a baking sheet and bake at 400* until they’re melted (with my oven, it took about 10 minutes).
  • Take out and let cool COMPLETELY.

VDAY 5{{Don’t worry if they come out looking a little less than pretty.  This is what mine looked like and trust me – once you pop them out and turn them over they’ll be beautiful!}}

  • Once cool, pop out of the mold, and that’s it – YOU’RE DONE!

VDAY 6{{See…pretty!  I told you.}}

Now if you’re making this for Valentine’s Day, like I am, you’ll also need small baggies to package them in.  And what’s a Valentine without a cutesy saying to go along with it?  Click here for the FREE PRINTABLE VALENTINE TAG (hand lettered by yours truly!)

I used a small decorative clothespin to attach my tag to the bag, but ribbon would be super cute too!

VDAY 7

That’s it!  There are tons of silicon molds in various shapes and sizes, so keep this idea in mind when it comes to favors for birthday parties, homemade gifts or just for a rainy day activity with your little ones!

XO LJ

Leave a Reply

