The Beauty of a Blog

pic

When I first thought about starting my own business, I brainstormed about a million ideas. Once of the ones I teetered back and forth with was the format of my Blog. I wanted to grow my business with my website, with my Etsy shop, with word of mouth and be taken seriously as an entrepreneur but I didn’t want to be taken too seriously – I am human first and businesswoman second – and the day to day things that entertain or encourage me is a HUGE part of both. I wanted to become known for my designs, but I didn’t want to constantly be uploading and changing my website (which is why I always direct my customers and clients to my Etsy Shop & Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest pages). My business is what I do – not who I am. And the wonderful thing about owning my own business and creating my own brand is that I have the ability to reach those who I may never have an opportunity to shake hands with in real life. When you’re not using it to self-diagnose the common cold (and end up convinced that you’ve contracted Mad Cow disease), the internet can be a really awesome thing.

I managed my first Blog during my pregnancy with my son, Cohen. I blogged every week (sometimes more) and I within my first month or so I had thousands of views. What started as a way to inform my friends and family about the ins and outs of my pregnancy, quickly grew into allowing people who I didn’t know in places that I had never been laugh and share my journey with me. I loved the feedback I got from it and the creative outlet it gave me during those 9 months. However, raising a baby actually requires A LOT more time and attention than growing one, so it’s been awhile since I’ve had a chance to get back to it.

I love Blogs – I love that they have led me inside the doors of many homes and given me interior design ideas. I love the recipes they’ve introduced into my own kitchen. I love that just by clicking on a link, I can appreciate life through other’s experiences. I especially love and am inspired by those Bloggers who do a fantastic job of bridging the gap between their personal and professional lives. I’m able to appreciate their work and feel like I have a genuine connection to them – which, in my case {any hopefully in yours} – always steers me towards buying from or recommending them rather than someone I don’t know who’s work is just displayed on a shelf with a price tag. Knowing the artist/designer/entrepreneur behind the product or service is incredibly important to me, therefore, it’s the driving force behind my Blog.

Kate at The Small Things Blog began blogging in 2011, uploaded some AMAZING hair tutorials to Pinterest and by that fall, her Blog was averaging 2-3mil pageviews a month! Her hair tutorials are incredible (my fave is this), but so are her pictures of her family (congratulations on the new baby!), her recipes (how awesome do these look!?) plus, she’s now a CAROLINA GIRL and shares my love for dots and stripes! Love her!

Or Emily at Jones Design Company, who also shares my love for typography and printed goods and sells her creations in the JDC Shop. Her sense of style is so timeless and clean, and someday I hope to keep my house as neat and tidy as this (isn’t it beautiful!?). I also appreciate her love for her children and how she does such a great job of always making them feel special (like her daughter’s birthday party). She has an incredible eye for detail and I’m continually inspired by what I see on her Blog.

These are just two of the Blogs that I visit frequently and admire so much the talent behind them. I hope to one day be featured in someone else’s Blog like they are in mine. Lofty goals, I know – but a goal nonetheless.

In the meantime, I want this Blog to be entertaining and fun, not only focusing on my business as it grows, but on everything else I love about life. I love decorating. I love throwing dinner parties. I love my church. I love crafting. I love cooking. I love fashion and jewelry. And I L-O-V-E being a wife and a momma. So this blog is dedicated to all of these things. Whether it’s a DIY project, a great new recipe, a fun outfit or a crazy ‘adventure in raising a family’ tale, this is the place for all of the above (and more). The Beauty in the Blog is just that – the freedom to highlight the beauty of all things you love.

XO – LJ

One thought on “The Beauty of a Blog

Leave a Reply

